The remains of the medieval parish church of Trailflat stand within its burial-ground in a commanding position looking out across the low-lying undulating terrain which opens out into Annandale. It was granted to Kelso Abbey in the 12th century. The parish was united with Tinwald in 1650, and the church was partly ruinous by 1684.
A 14th century tomb slab, 6 ft long, is in the churchyard. It is uninscribed but for a small incised cross 4 ins long at the ‘head’ end, there are also a number of 17th and 18th-century graveslabs and stones left standing.
A real hidden gem this one.